It is nearly that time of the year again in Plettenberg Bay where thousands of visitors head to our little town to enjoy some well deserved time in paradise.  This got me thinking to an incident that happened to me last year while attempting a beach visit in silly season.  What was i thinking?

It was a beautiful day so i decided to take my two boys boogie boarding at the beach, i mean how crowded could it actually be?  Well after driving straight past Central Beach which i was not going to even attempt we headed to Solar at Robberg Beach.  After walking several km’s from the parking lot and then several km’s along the beach to find an open spot on the sand we finally found a place to sit.  I got my towel out and the boys headed off to the designated swimming area with their boogie boards where they competed with several thousand other children to catch a wave.

Now being the responsible mother that i am i made sure that i constantly watched the two dots in the waves, our sandy spot was quite far along the beach, that were my children.  Nothing could have possibly happened to them as my eagle eyes were alert and focused and doing a really good job of looking after them.  When all of a sudden two shadows fell over me and i looked up to see, yes, my own two children with their boogie boards under their arms telling me that they were finished in the water.

I have no idea whose children i was so diligently watching but their mom clearly had nothing to worry about.  My family on the other hand, not so much.

So this silly season they are both wearing luminous swimming tops or we will stay at the pool where i can be sure that the children i am keeping so safe are actually mine.  After all the beach is not going anywhere and the rest of the year we pretty much have it to ourselves.

dsc00834