It has been five years and although time has softened the pain everywhere i look i am reminded of you.

The recycled cardboard and paper snowman you helped my children make that i cannot bear to throw away.

The wooden boards we sanded together, one of which hangs on my wall where i can run my fingers over it when i walk past.

The puppy you helped us to choose who is now five years old and has at last stopped digging holes in my lawn (most of the time anyway).

Mom, who wakes up every morning and faces another day without her soul mate.

Me, my brother, our families, your grandchildren.

And yet the sun continues to rise and set and the days go past, five years will become six, then more and more.  Not a moment goes past that i do not miss you and wish you were still here with the things you left behind.

DSC08952

